non-western art (Africa)

Out of all the cultures represented in the links to non-western art, Africa was my favorite. I love the bright, vivacious colors in the paintings and the scenes of simple, full life. My favorite Fine Art African artist is Leslie Luhem, born in 1970 in Dambala, Western Liberia. Lumeh taught himself how to paint and earned a diploma in architectural drafting from the Booker Washington Institute. After a civil war tore his country into pieces, he recreated scenes, first in simple pencil sketches, and then in watercolors onto canvas. His works attracted an unexpected number of people, Liberians, foreigners, and international journalists. Lumeh wasn’t an artist long, before he started receiving commissions from private collectors as well as institutions.

I have many favorite pieces from his collection. It was hard to choose one favorite so I am going to display three. The first painting is called The Fishing Village, painted in 2009, location unknown. I love the greens and blues in this painting. This pictures is so full of life, the trees, the water flowing, the children playing. It is a beautiful scene. I love it.

 

The second picture I chose to display is called Flower Sellers, painted in 2010, location unknown. I love the bright, vivid colors in this painting. This scene invites you into the every day routine of these villagers. I can picture myself in the shoes of these women, feeling the sun on my back as I walk downhill with my water pail.

 

The third painting I chose to display is called Peaceful, painted in 2010, location unknown. The title of this painting is appropriate because peace settles upon me when I look at it. The sky is beautiful, the sun shining down on the huts. Again, it invites you into the lives of the villagers and reminds you to broaden your perspective of the world.

One comment on “non-western art (Africa)

  1. ljanderson3 says:

    I can understand why you had trouble just choosing one painting, all three are so lovely! When looking at them I feel like I am seeing the scene through a mist or screen, it adds a dreamy air to the paintings. I like “The Fishing Village” the most, the scene seems so tranquil and balmy, all that is needed is a glass of lemonade and the mood would be set! I believe you did an excellent job including all the criteria (and then some) well done, excellent post!
    Lydia

Leave a comment